Season Review - 2008 Road

The Road Nationals were held in Sydney in late April 08. David Browne took a brilliant win in the Criterium (for M1), and went top 10 in the road race with 6th.

In early May 08, CyclingNSW awarded Cyclist of the Year trophies to five BiciSport Masters (in their respective categories) - Donna Meehan (W4), Michelle Crawford (W2), Peter Barnard (M4), Andrew Burne (M2) & David Willmott (M5).

David Browne (M1) and Mike O`Brien (M3) both medalled at the Sydney Championships at the Penrith Lakes Regatta Centre on 31 May 08.

Michelle Crawford (W2) and John Crouchley (M8) both took Gold medals at the NSW State Individual Time Trial Championships on 27 July 08. Ali Edwards (M2) took the Silver medal.

The NSW Team Time Trial Championships were held late August 08, and BiciSport fielded 5 teams (3 men 2 women), for a total of 20 riders. The Masters 1-4 team of Ian Garrity, Mike O`Brien, Phil McKnight & Jays Austin took the Gold medal. The BiciSport Womens teams took both Gold & Silver medals - Gold (Liz Georgouras, Louise Brown, Merryn Truskett & Michelle Crawford), and Silver (Mandy Smith, Lise Benjamin & Donna Meehan)

Season Review - 2007/08 Track

The Track Team Pursuit squad finished second at the State Track Championships in February 08. The team being Andrew Burne, Phil McKnight, Stuart Millar and Alan Townsend.

The State Track Championships in March 08 saw BiciSport take 11 Gold, 9 Silver and 3 Bronze medals. Andrew Burne (M2) continued to dominate the kilo time trial, Michelle Crawford took 3 Gold, and Mike Popplewell took 2 Gold. The Gold medallists included Andrew Burne, Michelle Crawford (3), Mike Popplwell (2), David Willmott & the Team Sprint team. Remaining medallists were Alan Townsend, Peter Barnard, Donna Meehan, Mike Lawson, Phil McKnight, Jays Austin, Michael O`Brien & John Crouchley.

The Metropolitian Track Championships at Tempe Velodrome in early April 08 saw the squad take another 9 wins, including Andrew Burne (2), Alan Townsend (2), Peter Barnard (3) and David Willmott (2). Medal placings went to Michael O`Brien, Michael Popplewell, Alan Townsend, Mike Lawson and Andrew Burne.

Andrew Burne was awarded the 2007 Masters Team Award at the annual Australian Sports Awards.

The Track Nationals were held late April 08 at the Dunc Gray Velodrome in Sydney. Four BiciSport riders were officially selected for the NSW State team - Peter Barnard, Donna Meehan, David Willmott & Michelle Crawford. Overall the track squad again dominated with 7 Gold, 7 Silver and 5 Bronze medals. Time trial wins went to Andrew Burne, Peter Barnard & David Willmott, with podium placings to David Browne, Michelle Crawford & Donna Meehan. In the Pursuit - Michelle Crawford took the win, Mike Lawson a Silver medal by the narrowest of margins, and John Crouchley in 3rd place. The Points race - wins to Michelle Crawford, and a Silver medal to David Browne. The Team Sprint saw the Gold medal to Andrew Burne/David Willmott/Peter Barnard, plus the Silver to Allan Townsend & Mike Popplewell. In the Sprint - Peter Barnard took the win, with podium placings to Andrew Burne, Michelle Crawford & Mike Popplewell.

World Masters Track 2008

The BiciSport results from WMT 08 totalled 16 medals -

Peter Barnard (1) - Bronze in the Sprint

*  David Willmott (2) - Silver in the Time Trial, Bronze in the Sprint

*  Michael Popplewell (2) - Silver in the Time Trial, Bronze in the Team Sprint

*  John Crouchley (2) - Silver in the Individual Pursuit, Bronze in the Scratch

*  Lise Benjamin (4) - Gold in the Sprint, Time Trial, Individual Pursuit & Points race  

*  Michelle Crawford (5) - Gold in the Individual Pursuit, Scratch race, Points race, Silver in the Sprint & Time Tria