Season Review - 2011 Road

Trudy Van Der Straaten took 15th in the National Elite Womens Road Race in Ballarat in early January.

At the National Para Road Championships on the Sunshine Coast in April, Alex Simmons took the Silver medal in the 24k Time Trial, and the Bronze in the 75k Road Race.

CyclingNSW `Cyclist of the Year` Awards for 2010 to David Willmott, Lise Benjamin, Donna Meehan & Michelle Crawford (now Goulburn Club).

Alex Simmons won A grade in a solo breakaway at the Salas Trophy on Mothers Day at Eastern Creek.

The NSW Masters State Road & Criterium Championships were held in Goulburn in mid May. Twenty BiciSport entries over the two days resulted in 1 Gold medal to Trudy Van Der Straaten (Criterium), and Silver medals to Steve Brown (RR), Stan Genakis (Criterium), Trudy Van Der Straaten (RR).

BiciSport took Gold in the NSW Masters Championships All Ages Teams Time Trial with Mike O`Brien, Jays Austin, Stan Genakis & Stewart Campbell. The second team of Ali Edwards, Jason Keane, Raoul Westbrook & Matt Glanville took 15th from a entry list of 26 teams.

Donna Meehan took Gold in NSW Individual Time Trial Chamnpionships at Calga in late July for the Masters W5 category. Sue Tierney took 3rd in W5.

At the NSW Winter Metro Track Champs at DGV in early September - Lise Benjamin took the World Record for the 500m ITT, plus Gold in the Derby & Bronze in the Scratch. David Willmott took Gold, David Browne Silver, Kirstie Dolton & Mike Lawson the Bronze. 

Dudley Hoskin (BiciSport Master) completed a 15,000k "Around Australia" charity ride in 80 days (non stop) from early July to raise money for SMILE children`s medical research.

At the National Masters Road Championships in early October in Ballarat, Sue Tierney took two (2) Bronze medals in the W5 category (ITT & Road Race), and a Silver in the Criterium.