Season Review - 2010/11 Track

Three BiciSport Masters were nominated in the final panel at Dec `10 for Cycling Australia Cyclist of the Year Awards - Lise Benjamin, David Willmott & Michelle Crawford.

At the NSW Elite Track Championships in Dec `10 - Alan Townsend/David Willmott/Peter Barnard took Gold in the Team Sprint, Michelle Crawford Gold in the Elite Pointscore.

BiciSport took both category wins at the Clarence Street Cup - David Browne took the Men (David Willmott 4th), and Lise Benjamin took the Women (Donna Meehan 2nd).

Trudy Van Der Straaten competed in the NSW Grand Prix Criterium Series in mid December (placing 6th, 6th, 3rd & 5th in the respective rounds). Trudy went on to finish 4th in the series overall.

At the NSW Elite Track Championships in late December - Alan Townsend, Peter Barnard & David Willmott took Gold in the Elite Team Sprint. Lise Benjamin took Silver in the Elite Scratch Race, and Alexandra Green took Gold in the Individual Pursuit.

Alexandra Green and Alex Simmons took 2 Silver medals each at the National Para Track Champs at the DGV in early February (in TT and IP).

BiciSport entered 5 teams in the NSW Masters Team Pursuit Championships in late February. In the All Ages category the teams finished 4th and 10th. The #1 team of Stan Genakis, Stewart Campbell, Steve Brown & Mike O`Brien finished 4th. The #2 team of Trudy Van Der Straaten, Ali Edwards, George Lowe & Graham Tierney finished 10th. In the 150+ category the #1 team set the NSW Record (in 2min 21 secs) and took the win - Phil McKnight, Alec Simmons, Mark Arnold & Mike Lawson. The #2 team took the Bronze in 2min 23secs (Peter Barnard, Alan Townsend, John Crouchley & David Willmott). In the Masters Women - Donna Meehan, Karen Crabb & Sue Tierney took Silver.

The NSW Masters Track Championships in March saw BiciSport Masters take 3 World Best Times, then 9 Gold, 10 Silver & 3 Bronze medals. In the Mens categories - David Willmott set at World Best Time in Sprint qualifying, then took Gold in the Sprint, Time Trial & Scratch. Peter Barnard took Silver in the Time Trial & Sprint. David Browne took Silver in the Scratch. The BiciMasters seemed to take 4th just about everywhere ... Points 4th to Mike O`Brien, Alex Simmons, Mike Lawson & John Crouchley, and Graham Tierney & Alan Townsend both 4th in the Sprint. David Willmott, Peter Barnard & Alan Townsend took Bronze in the Team Sprint. In the Womens categories - Lise Benjamin set a World Best Time in qualifying for the Sprint, then set another WBT in the Time Trial. Lise took Gold in the Time Trial & Team Sprint, plus Silver in the Sprint. Donna Meehan took 3 Gold - Individual Pursuit, Sprint & Team Sprint, Silver in Time Trial & Scratch. Sue Tierney took Silver in the Individual Pursuit & Sprint & Team Sprint. Karen Crabb took Silver in the Team Sprint.

The Masters National Track Championships in April `10 in Melbourne and the BiciSport team took 10 Gold, 7 Silver and 6 Bronze medals plus a World Best Time. Fast forward to March `11 at Dunc Gray and the team took 3 World Best Times, 9 Gold, 5 Silver and 6 Bronze medals. In the Time Trial - David Willmott & Lise Benjamin took WBT`s - then David & Lise took Gold, Peter Barnard & Donna Meehan the Silver, and Karen Crabb the Bronze. In the Points Race - David Willmott the Gold, Mike O`Brien the Silver and Mike Lawson the Bronze. Individual Pursuit - Donna Meehan Gold, John Crouchley Bronze & Mike Lawson 4th. Sprint - Lise Benjamin set a WBT, then took Gold. David Willmott Gold, Peter Barnard Silver. Scratch race - Lise took Gold, Donna Meehan Silver, Trudy Van Der Straaten Bronze. Teams Sprint - David Willmott Gold, Peter Barnard & Alan Townsend Bronze with Mike O`Brien/Paul Meehan 4th. Teams Pursuit - in the 150+ category the team of Simmons/Lawson/Arnold took the win. In the All Ages the team of Campbell, Brown, Genakis & O`Brien took 3rd. David Willmott & Lise Benjamin received Champion of Champions awards in their respect category.