Season Review - 2009 Road

Ian Grainger took the Gold medal at the MTB State Championships in early March in Nowra. At the NSW Hill Climb Championships at Bathurst in mid April - Donna Meehan took the Silver medal, and Jason Keane the Bronze.

Alex Simmons took 2 Silver medals at the National Paralympic Road Championships in May 09 in Murwillumbah (both Road Race & Individual Time Trial). Alex followed the National performances with 2 Gold medals [Road Race and Individual Time Trial] at the Arafura/Oceania Games in Darwin in mid May 09.

At the NSW Masters Road Championships at Moruya in May 09, results were - Donna Meehan [Silver - Criterium], Lisa Benjamin [Gold - Criterium, Bronze - Road Race], Karen Crabb [Bronze - Criterium].

BiciSport riders to receive CyclingNSW `Cyclist of the Year` Awards for their 2008 performances, included Michelle Crawford, Trudy Van Der Straaten & Mike Popplewell.

At the Sydney Championships in late May at the Penrith Regatta Centre, Donna Meehan took the Gold medal in the W4 road race, and Karen Crabb the Bronze in the W2.

At the NSW Team Time Trial Championships in June, the Womens team took the Silver medal with Liz Georgouras, Michelle Crawford, Trudy Van Der Straaten & Louise Brown. The Masters All Ages Team results were 5 th [Stan Genakis, Ian Garrity, Steve Brown, Phil McKnight], 18th [Ali Edwards, Jason Keane, Duncan Crosby, Tim Rice], 31st [Andrew Best, Andy Thomas, Rob Mander, David Cooper]. In the Masters 150+ the team of Bob Ilchick, Tony Adriaansen, Rauol Westbrook & Andy Feltham took 9th.

The State Individual Time Trial Championships at Calga in late July - both Donna Meehan & Louise Brown took Gold Medals & Phil McKnight a Silver. Wendy Thomas & John Crouchley both 4th, with Karen Crabb &  Stan Genakis 5th.

The Sydney Winter Track Championships in late August at DGV - Michelle Crawford took Gold, Katrina Lane 3rd. Donna Meehan took Gold, Lisa Benjamin 2nd. Mike Popplewell took Gold, Peter Barnard 2nd, and Paul Meehan 4th. David Willmott took Gold with Mike Lawson 4th. David Willmott also unofficially broke the Masters World Record for the 500 metre Time Trial.

Dan McGuigan was the Lanterne Rouge at the Tour of the Murray in early September.

At the Masters National Road Championships held in a wet & cold Canberra in early October - Trudy Van Der Straaten took Gold in both the Road Race & Criterium, Donna Meehan a Silver in the Criterium, and Phil McKnight & Stan Genakis took Bronze in the Individual Time Trial. Trudy was awarded the combined Champions of Champions Award in her category.

Alex Descantes finished 12th in the gruelling Simpson Desert MTB Challenge in early October.

The National Masters Road Championships were held in a wet & windy Canberra in early October. Trudy Van Der Straaten picked up two Gold medals (road race and criterium), Donna Meehan the Silver in the criterium and Phil McKnight and Stan Genakis both went Bronze in the Individual Time Trial.

Michelle Crawford and David Willmott were both nominated for CA Masters Cyclist of the Year Awards at the end of November. Michelle took out the Womens Masters Award.