Season Review - 2009/10 Track

The NSW Masters Track Championships saw BiciSport Masters take 19 Gold, 7 Silver & 10 Bronze medals from late February until mid March.

Team Pursuits squads took three medals - Women took Gold (Michelle Crawford, Trudy Van Der Straaten & Louise Brown), Masters All Ages took Bronze (Steve Brown, Mike O`Brien, Mike Popplewell, Stan Genakis), with the Masters 150+ taking the Silver (Mike Lawson, Tim Rice, Mark Arnold, David Willmott).

At the individual level the women were exceptional - Michelle Crawford took Gold in Pointscore, Sprint, Teams Sprint, Individual Pursuit, Scratch and Time Trial. Donna Meehan (Gold in Pointscore, Individual Pursuit, Scratch and Time Trial, then Silver in the Team Sprint). Lise Benjamin (Gold in Sprint, Scratch and Time Trial, then Silver in Pointscore, Team Sprint & Individual Pursuit). Trudy Van Der Straaten took Gold in the Team Sprint, and Louise Brown the Bronze in the Individual Pursuit.

In the Mens categories - David Willmott went close to breaking his World Record (as usual). David took Gold (Sprint and Time Trial), then Silver in the Individual Pursuit, and Bronze in the Pointscore. The range of medals included - Jays Austin (Gold in Pointscore), Mike Popplewell (Bronze in both Sprint & Team Sprint), John Crouchley (Silver in Pointscore, Bronze in Scratch), Peter Barnard (Bronze in both Team Sprint & Scratch), Alan Townsend (Bronze in both Team Sprint & Time Trial), Mike Lawson (Brilliant Gold in Individual Pursuit), George Lowe (Silver in Individual Pursuit), Stan Genakis (Bronze in Individual Pursuit), Graham Tierney (Bronze in Time Trial), Mark Arnold (super Gold in the Individual Pursuit).

The Masters National Track Championships in April `10 in Melbourne and the BiciSport team increased the medal haul from the `09 series - with 10 Gold, 7 Silver and 6 Bronze medals plus a World Best Time in the Individual Pursuit (for Michelle Crawford). Michelle took Gold in the Time Trial, Individual Pursuit, Scratch & Sprint. Donna Meehan took two Silver medals (IP & Scratch) & Bronze in the TT. Lise Benjamin took two Gold medals (TT & Scratch) and Silver in the IP. In the men - David Willmott took 3 Gold (TT, Team Sprint & Sprint), Peter Barnard took three Bronze (TT, Team Sprint & Points) and Silver in the Sprint. John Crouchley took Gold (Scratch) and Silver (IP). Alan Townsend (Bronze in Team Sprint), Mike Popplewell (Silver Team Sprint), Mark Arnold (Bronze IP) and Mike Lawson 4th in the IP.