World Masters Track 2008

The BiciSport results from WMT 08 totalled 16 medals -

Peter Barnard (1) - Bronze in the Sprint

*  David Willmott (2) - Silver in the Time Trial, Bronze in the Sprint

*  Michael Popplewell (2) - Silver in the Time Trial, Bronze in the Team Sprint

*  John Crouchley (2) - Silver in the Individual Pursuit, Bronze in the Scratch

*  Lise Benjamin (4) - Gold in the Sprint, Time Trial, Individual Pursuit & Points race  

*  Michelle Crawford (5) - Gold in the Individual Pursuit, Scratch race, Points race, Silver in the Sprint & Time Tria

Season Review - 2007 Road

Jays Austin won the Northern Sydney ("Beauie Worlds") Criterium Series in April 07. Jays collected points in nearly every round, made more impressive for a Masters category rider by riding in `A` grade.

David Browne (M1) took the Bronze Medal in the Sydney Road Championships in May 07. At the State Championships (Individual Time Trial) held in June 07 - Jays Austin picked up Silver in M2, and Phil McKnight took Gold in M4.

The Road Team Time Trial squad finished 5th in the State Championships in October 07. They were only two seconds off a Silver medal & the team contained Ali Edwards, Stu Harrington, Jays Austin & Phil McKnight.

Season Review - 2006/07 Track

Donna Meehan collected three Gold medals at the Victorian State Track Championships (Derby, Time Trial & Scratch), and Paul Meehan collected Bronze in the Sprint. Jays Austin joined BiciSport in Feb 07, making Jays the third World Masters Track Champion in the team (together with David Willmott & Peter Barnard).

David Willmott (M5) & Donna Meehan (W4) were both awarded "2006 NSW Cyclist of the Year" in their respective Masters divisions by Cycling NSW in early 07.    

In the State Track Championships in Feb 07, BiciSport totally dominated the series with 15 Gold, 4 Silver & 2 Bronze medals. Andrew Burne, Alex Simmons, Phil McKnight & Alan Townsend won the Teams Pursuit in late January. Additionally, David Browne & David Willmott were triple gold medallists (Time Trial, Sprint & Points). Andrew Burne and Peter Barnard did the double Gold (Time Trial & Sprint). Alan Townsend collected another 2 Silver (Time Trial & Sprint). Jays Austin took Gold in the Pursuit, Silver in the Points. Donna Meehan won Gold (Sprint), Silver (Time Trial) and Bronze (Points). Brian Hopkins took Bronze (Time Trial). Paul Parker, David Willmott and Alan Townsend took Gold in the Team Sprint.

The success in the 07 State Championships carried over to the 07 National Championships held in Melbourne in late March. The BiciSport Masters set 5 outright Australian Track records, together with a medal count totalling 7 Gold, 1 Silver and 5 Bronze. Gold medals were taken by - Peter Barnard (3), David Willmott (3), and Andrew Burne. Silver success went to Donna Meehan in the Derby. Bronze rewards went to Donna Meehan (2), Alan Townsend (2), and Alex Simmons (a great ride in the hotly contested Pointscore event).

World Masters Track - 2007

BiciSport had three World Masters Track Champions before the 07 Championships were held in Sydney (David Willmott, Peter Barnard & Jayson Austin), and this became four with Andrew Burne after his Sydney success. Michelle Crawford also took Gold in the Pursuit, and joined BiciSport from January 08. 

The BiciSport results from WMT 07 totalled 13 medals -

Andrew Burne (3) - Gold in the Time Trial & Team Sprint, and Bronze in the Sprint. Andrew was awarded with the `Masters Team` trophy at the Australian Sports Awards in Feb 08.

*  Peter Barnard (3) - Gold in the Sprint, Silver in the Time Trial, Bronze in the Team Sprint

*  David Willmott (3) - Silver in both the Time Trial and Sprint, Bronze in the Team Sprint

*  Alan Townsend (1) - Bronze in the Team Sprint

*  Michelle Crawford (1) - Gold in the Pursuit

*  Donna Meehan (2) - Silver in both the Time Trial and Scratch

Season Review - 2005/06 Track

Peter Barnard and David Willmott (both World Masters Track Champions) joined BiciSport for the 05-06 track season. Peter was awarded the Cycling Australia Masters Cyclist of the Year in Dec 05, and was also awarded the 05 Masters Athlete of the Year at the Australian Sports Awards in Feb 06. Both Peter & David were awarded NSW Cyclist of the Year Awards in their respective Masters categories in May 06. 

Duncan Crosby won the State Criterium Championships for M2 in Dec 05. At the Dunc Gray Velodrome during the 05/06 summer season the BiciSport team of David Willmott, Andrew Burne, Alan Townsend & Duncan Crosby finished 3rd in the Teams Pursuit State Championships.

At the National Track Championships in May 06, David Willmott & Peter Barnard both won their respective Time Trials and Sprints, and David collected Bronze in the Criterium. Both Richard Mulberry and Noel LaRose went top 10 in their respective age groups in the National Road Championship races at Somersby.